I am a pre-medicine student right now, and I understand a little about this issue. First, we as doctors must be carefu; when dealing with any sickness, because there is probably a spiritual root that is simply being manifested physically in the chemical world. For example, not enough fatty acids or carbohydrates in your diet can be a physical cause to depression. However, if you do not treat it spiritually working with the physical world, you may end up addicted to food. This does not solve the problem, but actually makes it worse. Yes, you may feel better by correcting certain aspects of your diet, but there is the danger of overcorrecting the problem, which is usually the case if the spiritual root is not also treated simultaeously. I could tell a patient, you need to do this to your diet to balance out your chemicals, and if the realize how good this makes them feal, they are likely to do too much of this and overcorrect the problem. To further demonstrate my point, I will point out that our brain is composed of chemicals called neurotransmitters. I am going to quote directly from a book called Food and Mood by Elizabeth Somer, M.A., R.D.: \"Until recently, scientists had identified only a few chemicals and hormones that regulated body and brain processes, including insulin, adrenaline, noradrenaline, and glucagon. But in the past 25 years the chemical story has become considerably more complex with hundreds of newly identified compounds that regulate everything from your mood and what you want to eat to whether or not you experience headaches or develop heart disease.\"