Dia Lamb
I look forward to a priest indeed responding to the general subject, if not every single question raised here.
I have no knowledge of how the Roman Catholic Church operates but I do have the impression they are very legalistic so unfortunately the excommunication does not surprise me.
As far as how should/would a devout Orthodox proceed in grave circumstances as these I would think that it truly depends on their spiritual level and whether they'd seek counsel from a spiritual father.
We do believe in Miracles. Therefore I'd imagine that fasting and prayers would be prescribed to all family members and the mother encouraged to leave her life in the Hands of God.
At the same time, I do not believe that a mother in very critical condition who would proceed with the terrible decision of an abortion would be excommunicated.
However I am sure they'd be a period of repentance and abstinence from Holy Communion.
On the other hand, it could be that a Spiritual Father discerns that in her illness she is in even greater need of the Christ's Holy Body and Blood and be encouraged to mourn but do participate regularly in the Holy Eucharist.
Abortion \"on a whim\" - for an unplanned pregnancy would carry a much different process I'd imagine.
However, how can it be that only the mother would be help liable in any of these scenarios?
I very much believe that God is not fooled. Should a girl find herself in the terrible situation of pregnant & abandoned, I am sure that God is not counting her responsibility only.... The sin of an abortion at whim I am sure would very firmly lay on the hands of the man who did not stand there beside her and his child.
No sin is greater than God's Mercy.
At the same time, we are not to \"play\" around with God.(\"empaizw\")
It is good to understand the gravity of our decisions each time and proceed prayerfully.