Ryan McGee
I\'ve been going to a number of interviews lately, as I\'m looking for a job, and one question that I frequently come across is where do you see yourself in X (3, 5, 10, etc.) years. How is one supposed to answer this question? Are they really asking, where would you like to be in X years?
At my last job, my teaching job, I was asked by my principal, where do you see yourself in 10 years? I thought to myself, 10 years ago I was a sophomore runt in high school. The last thing I thought I\'d ever be doing was teaching English at a Catholic high school. I notice that the plans we often have are different from God\'s plans, but should I communicate this at an interview? 10 years from now, I could be teaching at a college, in seminary or a priest, an office worker in some yet unfounded company, in some novel industry. I could be dead by then. Who knows?
How am I supposed to answer this question at job interviews?
Be the first person to like this.
Ryan McGee
I don\'t know why my post automatically asterisked the word that comes after freshman and before junior. I didn\'t put a bad word there.
John Chan
Many times, the person doing the interview doesn\'t have a clue what else to ask you. It\'s really a throw-away/ time filler question. If you can get around the awkwardness of the \\"interview\\" and be comfortable with the person asking the questions, you\'re way ahead of the game.
I\'ve always answered the question with something along the lines of \\"I don\'t presume to have that much control over the future - however, if you\'re asking me what I dream about, I can tell you what I would like my world to be like in ten years.\\"
I\'ve found that this approach removed the pressure from the interviewer as well, and made it more appealing for him/her to listen to what I had to say.
the asterisks were bleeping out a word for \\"not hetero\\"